in Australia

The Whitsunday Islands (German Whitsunday Islands ) are a group of islands off the east coast of the Australian state of Queensland .The Whitsunday Islands consist of 74 islands are inhabited by those 17th Most islands have National Park status and belong to the Whitsunday Islands National Park, in between lies a 35 000 km ² large marine park, which extends from the south to Cape Upstart Sarine in the north draws. The Whitsunday Islands are part of the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area . The Great Barrier Reef is located 35 miles east, but also the smaller islands are surrounded by reefs.

The largest island is Whitsunday Iceland . From May to September the surrounding waters are humpback whales used to breed. On several islands of the group, such as on the uninhabited island of Iceland Bird , there are large breeding colonies of many species of seabirds . The islands were originally a volcanic mountain shaped and belonged to the mainland. The end of the last ice age , in front of 30,000 to 50,000 years ago, led to melting of the poles and lifted the sea. Thus, the mountains were separated from the mainland. The highest mountain peaks are now the Whitsunday Islands.