Washington D.C

in North America

Washington D.C. is the capital of the USA. Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (KDCA), Arlington County, Virginia on the Potomac. Washington Dulles International Airport (KIAD), about 42km outside of Washington DC. Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport (KBW), about 51km outside of Washington DC.

Capitol State Building is the seat of Congress, the legislature of the United States of America, Washington DC. It has room for meetings of the Senate (Senate) and the House of Representatives (House) instead. In addition to the parliamentary chambers, the classical building houses numerous works of art on the history of the United States. It is three to five million visitors a year, one of the most popular tourist destinations in the country.


The White House is the residence and workplace of the US-American U.S. president. It is located on Pennsylvania Avenue (number 1600) in Washington DC. It received its name in 1901 because of its white exterior paint.

Being an important and secured place that houses the important persons in the city, it is being guarded in the special way. This White House is protected by the United States Secret Service, the United States Park Police and the NASAMS that guards the air space around the White House. Click here to know in detail about the NASAMS.

Washington National Cathedral (Cathedral Church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul in the City and Diocese of Washington).


Monuments – Lincoln Memorial is a monument to Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States. Below the monument is a museum which is dedicated to the life of Abraham Lincoln’s.

Washington Monument . The Washington Monument is a 169.3 meter high white marble obelisk, which is located exactly on the connecting line between the Capitol State Building and Lincoln Memorial in Washington (DC). This monument was erected in honor of the first President of the United States of America, George Washington. The monument was designed by Robert Mills. From the groundbreaking ceremony on 4 July 1848 the construction phase lasted until the 6th Dezember 1884th The Washington Monument is open Daily from 9:00 to 17:00 clock. The last tour begins at 16:45 clock. On 4 July and on 25 December is closed the monument.


The strongest members of religious communities in 2000 were the Roman Catholic church with 160 048, the American Baptist Churches USA with 51 836, the Southern Baptist Convention , with 38 852 and the Anglican Episcopal Church with 19 698 followers. 60 479 inhabitants were Muslim and 25 500 Jewish faith.




The city lies at the mouth of the Anacostia River into the Potomac River , and that on the left bank of the Potomac River between the states of Maryland in the northeast and Virginia to the southwest. The District of Columbia was formed out of Maryland and Virginia assignee of land to the federal government and the Congress to evade the clutches of the then very powerful individual states and to form an urban development through planned, modern and representative capital of the new republic. This area was a square of exactly 10 miles on a side. Located on the western shore area in 1846 returned to Virginia, because the city had grown less rapidly than expected (now Arlington County and (partially) Alexandria ).

The best-known buildings are the White House , the Capitol and the area outside the city proper Pentagon in Arlington . There are no skyscrapers in Washington, because no building may be higher than the width of the adjacent street plus 6.1 m. Three buildings are not covered by this scheme, as they were completed or at least planned before the law in the early 20th Century was adopted: the Washington Monument , the Tower of the Old Post Office and the Washington National Cathedral.

Geographically, the four quadrants of Washington, Northwest (NW), Southwest (SW), Northeast (NE) and Southeast (SE) divided, the boundaries of the U.S. Capitol meet. Politically, the city’s eight districts (“wards”) divided choose their own representatives in the council.

The roads are mostly just laid out and numbered. The trending east-west streets are alphabetical order (cf. Mannheim squares ) that are in the north-south numbered. The numbering starts and literacy in all directions at the Capitol. The major diagonal streets are called avenues and are usually named after the various states.

As the 17th Century Europeans arrived first on the territory of today’s Washington, DC, it was by an Indian tribe, the Nacotchtank inhabited, on the Anacostia River settled. Georgetown on the Potomac River was in 1751 through the Colony Province of Maryland (later Maryland founded) and some forty years later to the newly created territory of Washington to defeat. For this area also included Alexandria in the present State of Virginia .

The first capital after the ratification of the Constitution was New York (1788-1790). George Washington laid the oath of office as first president of the United States from the balcony of the old town hall.

One of the issues with which the President had to deal, was to find a permanent seat of government. As a compromise it was decided to Philadelphia in 1790 to make the capital for ten years and look in the meantime for a permanent place on the Potomac River. President Washington chose an area that includes parts of Maryland and Virginia encircled. At that time the area consisted primarily of meadows and marshes. It was planned that the Congress should meet in the new capital on the first Monday in December, 1800. Washington is therefore a capital plan.

The construction of the new capital became the official residence of the future U.S. president, the White House at, 13 Commenced in October 1792. Noted there today, a memorial plaque: “This foundation stone of the house of the president was in the 17th Year of the Independence of the United States of America on 13 October 1792 set. President: George Washington, commissioners: Thomas Johnson, Doctor Stewart , Daniel Carroll, architect James Hoban, architect: Collen Williamson. Vivat Republica “