Little known treasures of North America. Come explore the beaches of the world! South America, your Machu Picchu awaits! Come explore the beautiful lands of Asia. Africa, your safari is on the horizon. Come explore the United States. Australia, it really is better down under.
Home Europe

Salzburg, Austria

by WCC on April 25, 2012

in Europe

The city of Salzburg is located on the Salzach in Salzburg in the middle basin. It is the capital of the homonymous province with 148,000 inhabitants, and after Vienna, Graz and Linz, the fourth largest city in Austria. The north-west of the Statutory Salzburg borders Freilassing in the Free State of Bavaria, the rest of the urban area of the district of Salzburg environment.

salzburg Salzburg, Austria


In 488, began in the same place the decline of the Roman city Iuvavum. Salzburg was founded as a bishopric 696 and 798 to the seat of the archbishop. The main sources of Salzburg were salt production and trading, and at times the gold mining industry. The Hohensalzburg Fortress is the core of the 11th Century. She is one of Europe’s largest castles in the Middle Ages and is considered a landmark of the city. From the 17th Century, the city of Archbishop Wolf Dietrich and his successors as a residential city magnificently equipped. At that time, in the south of the city and the castle Hellbrunn castle built along with parking, water fountains and avenues. Salzburg is famous as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, which is why the city the nickname “City of Mozart” and the name of the airport Salzburg Airport WA Mozart bears. The historic center of the city since 1996 is on the list of world cultural heritage of UNESCO.

Today, Salzburg is a major exhibition and conference center, with many trade and service industries as well as a powerful tourist industry. In addition, the city is by the Salzburg Festival international importance, which earned her the nickname of another “Festival City”. The city of Salzburg is due to its strategic location at the heart of the transnational Euregio Salzburg – Berchtesgaden – Traunstein. She is also a transportation hub for each one of the main east-west and trans-Alpine road and rail routes in Europe (Munich – Vienna – Budapest, Salzburg – Villach – Udine).

salzburg winter Salzburg, Austria

salzburg winter

salzburg mountain Salzburg, Austria

salzburg mountain

salzburg city Salzburg, Austria

salzburg city

salzburg castle Salzburg, Austria

salzburg castle

salzburg austria Salzburg, Austria

salzburg austria

pin it button Salzburg, Austria

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: